Map of San JoseRSS

Map of San Jose

San Jose province is located in the center of Costa Rica and borders with the provinces of Heredia, Alajuela, Limon and Cartago. The capital of the San Jose Province is the city of San Jose de Costa Rica, which the largest city of the country. San Jose city is located at the heart of Gran Area Metropolitana in the Central Valley. San José is the seat of national government, the focal point of political and economic activity, and the major transportation hub of this Central American nation. It is also the cultural city of the country with importan museum such as the Central Bank Museums, Jade Museum, and Contemporanean Art Museum, as well as beutiful theather such as the National Theather of Costa Rica. Among the national parks founded in this province is Braulio Carrillo National Park, which is situated onlye 45 minutes from San Jose Downtown. It ocupies 445 sq. km of primary forest. Its importance is that it contains five distinctly separate forest habitats, dominated by the wet tropical forest. It has huge canyons, misty mountains, dead volcanoes, and many rivers.


San Jose suburbs include the cities of Pavas, Rohrmoser, Escazu and Santa Ana. The most modern suburbs are Rohrmoser and Pavas, where the United States of America Embassy is located. San Jose province has a great number of hotels of all kinds, from hostels to Medical especialized hotels. Most one day tour leave from San Jose city and go to the surrounding areas, visiting other provinces such as Cartago, Heredia, Alajuela and Limon. San Jose is also famous for its growing and varied gastronomy.

© 2016. Digital Arts S.A., San José, Costa Rica. Costa Rica Online Map is a Costa Rica Directory and Travel Information, using Google Maps and Geo Spatial work.